Quincy Jones - The Great Wide World Of Quincy Jones (1961)

Quincy Jones - The Great Wide World Of Quincy Jones (1961)
EAC | FLAC+CUE+LOG+Full Artwork -> 485 Mb
© 2009 Lone Hill Jazz LHJ10379
Jazz | Funk | Big Band
Many thanks to tiburon


Quincy Jones' original big band toured Europe under stressful conditions in 1960 before returning home. In 1961, they returned for a tour, and although the personnel had changed a bit, it was still a mighty orchestra. This Japanese LP (which contains music from a Zurich, Switzerland concert not yet reissued on CD) has six selections, including a 13-minute version of "Stolen Moments" and a nearly nine-minute Phil Woods original, "Banjaluka," along with four shorter pieces. Among the key soloists are trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, Eric Dixon and Budd Johnson on tenors, altoist Woods, trumpeter Benny Bailey (featured on "Moanin'") and trombonist Curtis Fuller. Fine straight-ahead music from a short-lived but significant jazz orchestra.


01. Lester Leaps In
02. Ghana
03. Caravan
04. Everybody’s Blues
05. Cherokee
06. Air Mail Special
07. They Say It’s Wonderful
08. Chant Of The Weed
09. I Never Has Seen Snow
10. Eesom
Recorded in New York, November 4 & 9, 1959
11. Air Mail Special
12. Banja Luka
13. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
14. Solitude
15. Stolen Moments
16. Moanin’
Recorded live in Zurich, Switzerland, on March 10, 1961


musicians on tracks 1-10
Lee Morgan, Art Farmer, Ernie Royal, Jimmy Maxwel, Nick Travis, Lennie Johnson (tp), Jimmy Cleveland, Frank Rehak, Urbie Green, Billy Byers (tb), Julius Watkins (fhr), Phil Woods, Porter Kilbert (as), Jerome Richardson (fl, ts, pic), Budd Johnson (ts), Sahib Shihab (bs), Patti Bown (p), Les Spann (g, fl), Buddy Catlet (b)and Don Lamond (d). Quincy Jones (conductor)

musicians on tracks 11-16
Freddie Hubbard, Benny Bailey, Rolf Ericson, Paul Cohen (tp), Curtis Fuller, Melba Liston, Ake Persson (tb), Julius Watkins (fhr), Phil Woods, Joe Lopes (as), Eric Dixon, Budd Johnson (ts), Sahib Shihab (bs, fl), Patti Bown (p), Les Spann (g, fl), Buddy Catlet (b) and Stu Martin (d). Quincy Jones (arranger & conductor)